April 2018 Events ‹ Previous Month Next Month ›

Art in the Park

Sunday, April 1, 2018 - Sunday, December 16, 2018

Spreckels Park
Between 6th and 7th Street
On Orange Avenue
Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Art-In-The-Park features more than fifty top artists in every genre including oil, acrylic and watercolor painting,etching, photography, wood and metal working, stained glass, ceramics and a variety of other ...

More information›

Past events

Watercolor Workshop

Thursday, March 22, 2018 - Thursday, April 12, 2018

1331 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Cost-$40.00 includes master level instruction, all supplies and beverage.

More information›

Kids' Crafts at the Library

Thursday, March 29, 2018 - Tuesday, April 24, 2018

640 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Kids Craft every Tuesday in the Ruby Room 3-4pm.

More information›

Island Arts: Digital Photography Classes

Saturday, March 31, 2018 - Monday, April 30, 2018

Coronado Middle School, Coronado Middle School, Village Elementary
(map)

Digital Photography - Monday and Wednesday 3:30-5:00 Grades 6-8 $280 for 8 weeks (16 classes)

More information›

Freestyle Wine and Paint

Sunday, April 1, 2018 - Sunday, July 1, 2018

Emerald C Gallery, 1331 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118, USA
(map)

$25.00 freestyle your own painting without instruction. Wine and Paint bar set up! Must RSVP, family friendly

More information›

Seasonal Floral Design

Monday, April 2, 2018

1019 Seventh Street
Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Learn to design and create a fresh seasonal floral piece from the award winning, Coronado Flower Show Main Showcase designer, Maribel Herrera. This class is a fun and interactive way ...

More information›

Toddler Time and Story Hour

Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - Friday, April 27, 2018

640 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Toddler Time Story Hours Tuesday & Friday 10:10am Ruby Room


PreSchool Story Hour Tuesday & Friday 10:45am Ruby Room


Spanish Story Hour Wednesdays 11:10am

More information›

Coronado Farmer's Market

Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - Tuesday, April 24, 2018

1201 1st St Coronado, California
(map)

Ferry Landing & Farmers Market – 1201 1st Ave. Farmers Market Tues 2:30-6pm in the parking lot near IL Fornaio Market booth space contact Mary Hillebrecht 760-741-3763.

More information›

Islander Arts: Visual Art

Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - Thursday, April 26, 2018

Village Elementary School
(map)

Tuesdays Grades 1-3 Thursdays 3:15-4:45 Grades 4-6 $145 for 8 weeks

More information›

Islander Arts: Jewelry Making

Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Coronado Middle School
(map)

Tuesdays 3:15-4:15 Grades 5-8 $160 for 8 weeks

More information›

Coronado Scribes

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - Wednesday, April 25, 2018

640 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Coronado Scribes is a local writers group that meets Wednesday's 1:30 - 3:30 in our LIbrary’s conference room. Come to listen, come to read.

More information›

Wine and Paint Canvas and Cocktails Workshop // 21+

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - Saturday, April 28, 2018

1331 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Create your own canvas masterpiece, includes all supplies, instruction, wine and lite fair! Bring a friend, neighbor or your Artistic self! Cost $40.00 all inclusive

More information›

Islander Arts: Violin Lessons

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - Thursday, April 26, 2018

Coronado Middle School
(map)

Wednesdays 7:15-8:00 am Grades 1-5 Thursdays 7:00-7:45 am Grades 6-8 $160 for 8 weeks

More information›

Sketching Class

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - Wednesday, April 25, 2018

1019 Seventh Street
Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Learn to sketch from the former art director of design at DC Comics. This sketching class will focus on drawing fundamentals, drawing using geometric shapes and volume and lighting. Demonstrations ...

More information›

Coloring Social Group

Thursday, April 5, 2018 - Thursday, April 26, 2018

1019 Seventh Street
Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Coloring is no longer just for kids; in fact, adult coloring books are all the rage. Just like meditation, coloring allows us to switch off our brains from other thoughts ...

More information›

Watercolor Class

Friday, April 6, 2018 - Friday, April 27, 2018

1019 Seventh Street
Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Learn to paint from the former art director of design at DC Comics. The class will focus on painting fundamentals, learning how to paint using geometric shapes and volume and ...

More information›

Painting by the C at Hotel Del

Saturday, April 7, 2018

Hotel del Coronado1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA  92118, United States
(map)

Painting “Spring at the Del” April Showers: A sunset over Point Loma with beach flowers and grass

More information›

Saturday Book Club

Saturday, April 7, 2018

640 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

Publisher's Summary For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon ...

More information›

Coronado Heritage Walk

Sunday, April 8, 2018 - Sunday, April 29, 2018

1100 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Join us on a walk of Coronado, where you will learn the beginnings of a unique travel destination and how it flourished to be the bustling town it is today ...

More information›

Music for Babies, Tots, & Kinders

Monday, April 9, 2018 - Monday, April 30, 2018

1845 Strand Way Coronado CA
(map)

Music class with mom or dad is an important time for interaction and bonding between parent and child. It develops the baby emotionally, cognitively, socially and physically. Join your Little ...

More information›

Senior Dance Showcase: per.cep.tion

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

650 D Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

per.cep.tion

/being and becoming/

noun

On April 10 at 6 pm, the Coronado School of the Arts conservatory of Classical and Contemporary Dance will be hosting their Seniors ...

More information›

Library App Workshop

Thursday, April 12, 2018

640 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

The Library has a number of apps you can use to get eBooks, eAudiobooks, eMagazines, eComics and even an app to learn a new language. Come find out how they ...

More information›

Wine & Lecture: The Legacy of John D. Spreckels

Friday, April 13, 2018

1100 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Join us as John D. Spreckels: The Man | The Legacy guest curator, Dr. Sandee Bonura, shares her research and interesting stories about the man, John D. Spreckels.

More information›

Artist in Residence: Live Demonstration

Saturday, April 14, 2018

963 Orange Ave. Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Meet our Artist in Residence Kate McCavitt while she preforms a live demonstration of how she creates her layered mix media paintings. We love for you to join us!

More information›

Vietnam Memorial Talk & Tour

Saturday, April 14, 2018

Coronado Library
640 Orange Ave
Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

The "Vietnam Unit Memorial Monument" tour will begin at the Coronado Library at 11:00 a.m., Saturday, April 14.  To begin the journey, come to the presentation and discussion ...

More information›

Calligraphy Workshop

Sunday, April 15, 2018

1331 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Includes all supplies beverages and master instruction with Nancy Lee, Artist by the Sea! $25.00 must RSVP

More information›

Mystery Book Club

Monday, April 16, 2018

640 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

The Sign of the Four Join us to discuss Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s The Sign of the Four.

Yellow fog is swirling through the streets of London and Sherlock ...

More information›

Armchair Travel - April 17, 2018 with Linda Grady

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Coronado Community Center
Nautilus Room
1845 Strand Way
Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Linda Grady will take us on a vivid trip to Taiwan, otherwise known as the Republic of China. Taiwan has seen dramatic changes since the 1949 departure of the Nationalist ...

More information›

Poetry Open Mic Night at the Library

Thursday, April 19, 2018

640 Orange Avenue
Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

In partnership with the Coronado Scribes Writing Group, the Coronado Public Library will once again host a public coffeehouse-style poetry open-mic night on Thursday, April 19th at 6 p.m ...

More information›

CoSA presents City of Angels

Friday, April 20, 2018 - Saturday, April 28, 2018

650 D Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

City of Angels, winner of six Tony Awards, is one of the jazziest, swingingest, bluesiest musicals ever to hit Broadway – and CoSA. Styled in film noir, it tells the story ...

More information›

2018 Florals by Locals

Saturday, April 21, 2018 - Sunday, April 22, 2018

Spreckels Park
Flower Show
Orange Avenue between 6th and 7th Street
Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

For the fourth year the Coronado Cultural Arts Commission is pleased to be sponsoring the annual “Florals by Locals,” an exhibition and sale of floral-themed art by local artists. The ...

More information›

E Books Workshop

Monday, April 23, 2018

640 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Come and learn how to download books to your devices.

More information›

CoSA Instrumental Music Recital

Tuesday, April 24, 2018 - Friday, April 27, 2018

Black Box Theater
650 D Avenue
(map)

Thursday, April 26, 2018: 6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.

An evening of music featuring woodwinds, percussion, brass, piano and jazz. Students will play duets and in ensembles ...

More information›

2018 Classic Film Series - April - Casablanca (1943)

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Village Theatre
820 Orange Avenue
Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

The series, a spinoff and legacy of former Mayor Casey Tanaka’s popular “Mayor’s Movie of the Month,” offers an “oldie but goodie” classic every month. All films are ...

More information›

CoSa presents Instrumental Music Recital

Thursday, April 26, 2018

650 D Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

An evening of music featuring woodwinds, percussion, brass, piano and jazz. Students will play duets and in ensembles. From Ballade et Polonaise (Vieuxtemps), to Mambo Schmambo (Chris Brood) to Skate ...

More information›

Author Lisa K. Shapiro book discussion

Thursday, April 26, 2018

640 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

At the beginning of World War II, a professor from San Diego State College asked students entering military service to write to him. For the next five years, thousands of ...

More information›

Author Presentation: No Forgotten Fronts: An American War Story in Letters

Thursday, April 26, 2018

Winn Room
Coronado Public Library 
640 Orange Avenue
Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

Lisa Shapiro will give a talk on her book No Forgotten Fronts. Told though the voices of a college community, this is a universal story of struggle and sacrifice in ...

More information›

Hops and History: Drag Racing in Coronado

Thursday, April 26, 2018

1100 Orange Avenue
Coronado, CA 92118
(map)

San Diego enjoys a long and storied race car and drag racing history, and Coronado plays a significant role in that heritage. Emmanuel Burgin, an author and former sports editor ...

More information›

FOCUS Evening with Elvis

Sunday, April 29, 2018

1845 Strand Way, Coronado, Ca. 92118
(map)

Friends of Children United Society (FOCUS) is hosting a fundraiser to benefit battered, abused, homeless, disabled and disadvantaged children. On April 29th in the Nautilus Room of the Coronado Community ...

More information›